Henry, General McNabb and SomervilleTo Receive 2011 AOTOS Awards

(Press Release)
Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The United Seamen's Service (USS) 2011 Admiral of the Ocean Sea Awards (AOTOS) will be presented to James L. Henry, Chairman and President of the Transportation Institute; General Duncan J. McNabb, Commander, U.S. Transportation Command; and Robert D. Somerville, Chairman of ABS (formerly the American Bureau of Shipping).

The maritime industry's most prestigious awards will be presented at a gala industry dinner and dance to be held at the Sheraton New York Hotel and Towers, New York City, on October 28, 2011.  A special AOTOS recognition plaque will be presented to Captain George Quick, former President of the Association of Maryland Pilots.

"We are so proud to be able to honor labor, military and service providers who represent strong leadership in the maritime industry. They are being recognized for their significant contributions and important ship services to American seafarers, vessels and American commerce," said Richard Hughes, Chairman of the USS AOTOS Committee and President of the International Longshoremen's Association, AFL-CIO.

James Henry has played in virtually every major initiative in United States maritime policy since he assumed the presidency of the Transportation Institute in 1987 and became its chairman in 1990. He played a particularly key role in protecting the Jones Act when it came under attack in the mid-1990s.

Mr. Henry is also Chairman of the National Defense Transportation Association's Military Sealift Committee and Chairman of the United States Maritime Coalition. In 2005, he was awarded the Vincent T. Hirsh Maritime Award for Outstanding Leadership from the Navy League of the United States. In 2007, he was the recipient of the prestigious National Transportation Award from National Defense Transportation Association (NDTA) during its Annual Forum in Charleston, S.C.

At the Transportation Institute, Mr. Henry has played a leading role in the effort to preserve the U.S. Jones Act fleet and develop a maritime policy that ensures a viable ocean transportation capability. Most recently, the Institute advocated for the U.S. Jones Act fleet to play a critical role in the BP oil spill clean up as well as for adequate channel and harbor depth within the Great Lakes.  

General McNabb is commander of U.S. Transportation Command (USTRANSCOM), the single manager for global air, land and sea transportation and the world's largest shipper for the Department of Defense. A command pilot, he has amassed more than 5,600 flying hours in transport and rotary wing aircraft. He graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy in 1974.  

General McNabb has held command and staff positions at squadron, group, wing, and major command and Department of Defense levels and has more than 20 awards, recognitions and achievements. General McNabb's staff assignments have been a variety of planning, programming and logistical duties. These include serving as the Deputy Chief of Staff for Plans and Programs on the Air Staff and Chairman of the Air Force Board having oversight of all Air Force programs.

He also served as the Director for Logistics on the Joint Staff where he was responsible for operational logistics and strategic mobility support to the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the Secretary of Defense.  Prior to his current assignment, he was Vice Chief of Staff. General McNabb will retire this summer from the military.

The American Bureau of Shipping (now ABS) promotes the security of life, property and the natural environment primarily through the development and verification of standards for the design, construction and operational maintenance of marine-related facilities. Mr. Robert Somerville has led the global agency consisting of more than 3,000 employees, serving as its Chief Executive Officer until April 2011. He now serves as Chairman of ABS.

Serving as Director of ABS Group of Companies, Inc., Mr. Somerville's distinguished maritime career includes 40 years with ABS in various capacities. Prior to joining ABS in 1970, he served as a seagoing engineer and gained shipyard experience at Newport News, at the time the largest shipbuilder in the world.

Mr. Somerville serves as a volunteer member of the MMA Alumni Association Board of Directors, trustee of the Seamen's Church Institute, and Vice Chairman of the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS). He is a member of the Maine Maritime Academy Classof 1965 and completed Harvard Business School's program for Management Development in 1987. He has devoted his professional life to the marine industry.

In addition to the three AOTOS recipients, Captain George A. Quick will receive the AOTOS plaque honoring his many years in the industry, particularly his activity in the pilot sector. He is a 1951 graduate from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and earned his Juris Doctorate degree in 1967 from the University of Baltimore Law School. He is admitted to the practice of law in Maryland and is a proctor member of the Maritime Law Association.

Captain Quick served as a deck officer on passenger and cargo ships until 1956 when he entered the training program of the Association of Maryland Pilots. He holds a federal license by the U.S. Coast Guard as master and first class pilot and state license by Maryland as a pilot of ships of any draft. He was President of the Association of Maryland Pilots; Vice President of the American Pilot Association and since 1982 has been Vice President for the Pilot Membership Group of the International Organization of Masters, Mates and Pilots (MM&P) representing pilots throughout the United States and the Panama Canal.

All proceeds from the AOTOS event benefit USS community services abroad for the U.S. merchant marine, seafarers of all nations, and U.S. government and military overseas. The recipients will share the evening with a group of American seafarers who will be honored for acts of bravery at sea.

For AOTOS 2011, Michael Sacco, President of the Seafarers International Union, is Dinner Chairman. Samuel B. Nemirow and F. Anthony Naccarato of American Maritime Officers Service and will be serving as National Committee Co-Chairmen.  Other committee members and chairmanships will be announced soon.



Maritime Today

The Maritime Industry's original and most viewed E-News Service

Maritime Reporter July 2016 Digital Edition
FREE Maritime Reporter Subscription
Latest Maritime News    rss feeds

People in the News

U.S. Awards $61.8 Mln for Port Projects

U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Fox today announced 40 awards totaling nearly $500 million in funding for theĀ  FY 2016 Transportation Investment Generating Economic Recovery (TIGER) grants.

DP World takes over Rodney Container Terminal, Canada

DP World has signed a long-term lease agreement for the expansion and operation of the multi-purpose Rodney Container Terminal at Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada.

Crew Kidnapping Rising in Gulf of Guinea - Dryad

In contrast to the substantial numbers of reported incidents across Southeast Asia and the Indian Ocean in recent years, maritime crime now appears to have stabilised

Maritime Careers / Shipboard Positions Maritime Standards Naval Architecture Pod Propulsion Port Authority Salvage Ship Electronics Ship Repair Ship Simulators Winch
rss | archive | history | articles | privacy | contributors | top maritime news | about us | copyright | maritime magazines
maritime security news | shipbuilding news | maritime industry | shipping news | maritime reporting | workboats news | ship design | maritime business

Time taken: 0.0948 sec (11 req/sec)