Finalists of Wind Propulsion Innovations Awards

Maritime Activity Reports, Inc.

July 14, 2016

Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards 2016 Image IWSA

Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards 2016 Image IWSA

The International Windship Association (IWSA) has announced the shortlist, selected by shipping industry experts, for the inaugural Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards 2016 and voting is now open to everyone to select the winners in three categories – Innovation, Technology User and Research. The Lifetime Achievement Award is a closed vote for IWSA members. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony at the SMM2016 on 8th September 2016 in Hamburg.

The Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards were launched by IWSA to recognise pioneering projects and technological innovation in the development of wind propulsion for technically and commercially viable solutions for different vessels across the maritime industry. The awards spotlight individuals and companies making a real difference in advancing wind propulsion as a low carbon, sustainable solution for the world’s shipping fleet.

IWSA received a large number of nominations for these inaugural awards, underlining the immense effort and innovation in the development of wind propulsion solutions in the industry.

The award shortlist was independently judged by a panel of industry experts, wind propulsion specialists and researchers including; Alistair Fischbacher – CEO, Sustainable Shipping Initiative, Dr. Pierre C Sames - DNV GL, Catherine Austin – Editor, Shipping Efficiency Review, Craig Eason – Deputy Editor, Lloyds List, Katharine Palmer –Lloyd’s Register Marine, Gavin Lispith – Editor, Motorships, Dimitris Argyos - BG Group, Gary A. McIntyre - J.Lauritzen A/S, Dr. Jasper Faber (PhD) – CE Delft, Dr. Michael Traut – Tyndall Centre, Manchester University, Capt. Michael Vahs– Emden Leer University, Dr. Nishatabbas Rehmatulla - UCL Energy Institute. Prof. Orestis Schinas - Hamburg School of Business Administration (HSBA), Prof. Osman Turan- University of Strathclyde, Peter Schenzle – Wind propulsion specialist, Sam Kimmins & Sara Skold- Sustainable Transport Consultants

Gavin Allwright, IWSA Secretary said, “We are really pleased by both the number and high quality of the nominations we have received. This is testament to the growth of interest in wind propulsion solutions across the industry and the innovative, pioneering spirit of the project teams dedicated to bringing these low carbon technologies to market.”

Maritime Reporter Magazine Cover Feb 2019 - Ferry Builders

Maritime Reporter and Engineering News’ first edition was published in New York City in 1883 and became our flagship publication in 1939. It is the world’s largest audited circulation magazine serving the global maritime industry, delivering more insightful editorial and news to more industry decision makers than any other source.

Maritime Reporter E-News subscription

Maritime Reporter E-News is the subsea industry's largest circulation and most authoritative ENews Service, delivered to your Email three times per week

Subscribe for Maritime Reporter E-News