Marine Link
Saturday, November 18, 2017

SNAME Presents 2007 Awards

February 7, 2008

At the annual banquet in Ft. Lauderdale on November 15, 2007, the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) presented the following awards:

THE 2007 DAVID W. TAYLOR MEDAL WAS PRESENTED TO: HANS G. PAYER “for notable achievement in naval architecture and/or marine engineering" THE 2007 VICE ADMIRAL "JERRY" LAND MEDAL WAS PRESENTED TO: BRUCE S. ROSENBLATT “for outstanding accomplishment in the marine field" THE 2007 WILLIAM H. WEBB MEDAL WAS PRESENTED TO: ROGER H. COMPTON – “for outstanding contributions to education in naval architecture, marine or ocean engineering" THE 2007 BLAKELY SMITH MEDAL WAS PRESENTED TO: HOWARD L. SHATTO - for outstanding accomplishment in ocean engineering" THE ELMER L. HANN AWARD The 2007 Elmer L. Hann Award was presented to T. D. HUANG, P. KEENE, L. KVIDAHL, C. CONRADY, P. DONG, and L. DECAN for their paper “Distortion Mitigation Technique for LightweightShip Structure Fabrication” presented at the Ship Production Symposium, October 12-13, 2006, in conjunction with the SNAME Maritime Technology Conference, in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. THE WILLIAM M. KENNEDY AWARD The 2007 William M. Kennedy Award for “outstanding service and contribution in the development of systems and planning applying to shipbuilding and repair” was presented to JAY P. CARSON. . THE FOLLOWING AWARDS WERE PRESENTED AT THE PRESIDENT’S ADDRESS ON NOVEMBER 15, 2008, DURING THE SOCIETY’S ANNUAL MEETING IN FT. LAUDERDALE, FL VICE ADMIRAL E. L. COCHRANE AWARD This award is presented annually for the best paper published in Marine Technology. The 2007 Vice Admiral E. L. Cochrane Award was presented to DANIEL SAVITSKY, MICHAEL F. DeLORME and RAJU DATLA, for their paper “Inclusion of Whisker Stray Drag in Performance Prediction Method for High Speed Planing Hulls” published in the 2007 January issue of Marine Technology, Volume 44, Number 1. THE AMERICAN BUREAU OF SHIPPING--CAPTAIN JOSEPH H. LINNARD PRIZE For the best paper published in Volume 114-2006 SNAME TRANSACTIONS, the 2007 American Bureau of Shipping-Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize was presented to HANS G. PAYER and RAUL BROSTELLA, for their paper “The Panama Canal Expansion and the Panamax Vessels of the Future.”

CERTIFICATES OF APPRECIATION Certificates of Appreciation for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society were presented to: THOMAS LAMB for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society serving as a member of the Education Committee, 1999-2003, and Chairman, 2005-2006. THOMAS P. MACKEY - for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society serving as Chairman of the International Activities Committee, 2005-2006. FRANK G. BERCHA - for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society for his excellent organization and implementation of ICETECH 2000, in St. Petersburg, Russia, and ICETECH 2006, held in Banff, Alberta, Canada. MATTHEW L. UNGER - for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society serving as Chairman of the Student Steering Committee, 2004-2006, and while in that position, a member of the Executive Committee, 2004-2006, and a member of Council, 2006. DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD – The 2007 DSA award “for dedicated personal service and/or technical contributions to the Society” was presented to BARBARA L. LAMB and DAWSON MILLER THE 2007 STUDENT PAPER AWARDS WERE PRESENTED TO THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS AT THE STUDENT CONGRESS ON NOVEMBER 15, 2008, DURING THE SOCIETY’S ANNUAL MEETING IN FT. LAUDERDALE, FL

Graduate Paper Honor Prize JAMES P. MORASH for his paper “a Modular High Voltage Lithium-Ion Battery for Unmanned Marine Vehicles” presented to the New England Section, February 8, 2007. Graduate Paper Award GREGORY R. MITCHELL for his paper “A Concept Design Tool for Small Planing Craft” presented to the New England Section, February 8, 2007. Undergraduate Paper Honor Prize PETER BRYN for his paper “A Systematic Approach for Modifying the Stern of the 0.65 Block Series 60 Hull,” presented to the New York Metropolitan Section, June, 2006.

Undergraduate Paper Award JAMES SANNINO, EVAN KARLIK, CHRISTINA GOMEZ, SETH E. CLARK, NINA YOUNG, and NATHANIEL CHAN, for their paper “RoBoat: Design and Field Testing of an Autonomous Surface Vessel and Acoustic Tracking System” presented to the New England Section, Fall 2006.

Maritime Reporter Magazine Cover Nov 2017 - The Workboat Edition

Maritime Reporter and Engineering News’ first edition was published in New York City in 1883 and became our flagship publication in 1939. It is the world’s largest audited circulation magazine serving the global maritime industry, delivering more insightful editorial and news to more industry decision makers than any other source.

Maritime Reporter E-News subscription

Maritime Reporter E-News is the subsea industry's largest circulation and most authoritative ENews Service, delivered to your Email three times per week

Subscribe for Maritime Reporter E-News