Marine Link
Sunday, July 21, 2024

Harris Joins J.F. Lehman Operating Executive Board

Maritime Activity Reports, Inc.

May 8, 2017

Fred Harris (File photo: General Dynamics)

Fred Harris (File photo: General Dynamics)

Frederick J. Harris, recently retired president of General Dynamics NASSCO and Bath Iron Works shipyards, has joined the operating executive board (OEB) of private equity firm J.F. Lehman & Company.

The OEB is a group of industry and government executives with significant experience in the firm’s target industries. Through key relationships and sector-specific knowledge, OEB members contribute to sourcing and evaluating transactions, advising on portfolio company strategy and recruiting senior level portfolio company management.

A recognized leader in the maritime industry, Harris brings over 50 years of experience in ship operation, naval engineering, shipbuilding and ship repair to the OEB and the firm. Harris began his maritime career at Maine Maritime Academy, where he graduated with a degree in marine engineering and was commissioned in the U.S. Navy Reserves. After serving as an engineer in the U.S. Merchant Marine, he earned an MBA from Babson College and began his shipbuilding career with General Dynamics Electric Boat, where he advanced in various leadership roles and worked on a wide range of vessels including nuclear submarines, destroyers and cargo ships. In 2006, he was named President of General Dynamics NASSCO, where he was credited with the turnaround of the U.S. Navy’s T-AKE program. His leadership role was further expanded in 2013 when Harris was appointed President of Bath Iron Works, and he served as president of both shipyards until his retirement 2016. 

Harris is a member of many maritime industry associations, including the Navy League of the United States, the American Society of Naval Architects and the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers. He has received numerous awards for achievement and was the first American to receive the William Froude Medal – the highest award for professional achievement from The Royal Institution of Naval Architects.